Reviews

2015 – Chopra on Valeur, ‘India: The Urban Transition – A Case Study of Development’
Review by Preeti Chopra in H-Asia, H-Net Reviews, December 2015
In an age when star architects dominate our attention, the Danish architect-urbanist Henrik Valeur’s book on India’s urban transition is an important reminder to us of a longstanding parallel history of architecture and urbanism, one where architects tackle social problems through practical engagement with the built environment.
Review [389K] jpg

2015 – Carnival we ought to grow out of
Review by Kuldip Dhiman in The Tribune 02.08.2015
Henrik’s idea was that by removing all cars, a lot of space would be freed. “Almost 25 per cent of the total surface area of the sector is used by cars, either for driving or parking. All of this asphalt, which contributes significantly to the overheating of the city, could be removed, and instead, eco-friendly pathways for pedestrians, cycles and rickshaws could be built. These would be narrower, though still providing sufficient space for emergency vehicles,” says Henrik.
Review [766K] jpg

2015 – Concept of smart cities created by IT companies
Review in Times of India 04.03.2015
The government’s proposal to create 100 smart cities in the country which boast of world class amenities maybe a step in the right direction, but, the use of technology-driven services is a disconcerting point, architect-urbanist and thinker Henrik Valeur said at a talk-cum-informal discussion late Wednesday evening.
Review [805K] jpg

2015 – Reflections on Henrik Valeur’s Talk on Development Urbanism
Review in Hyderabad Urban Lab 03.02.2015
Valeur’s overall commitment is to a practice of architecture and planning which is sensitive to the flexibility and diversity of ways in which people use spaces, while always maintaining a commitment to environmental sustainability.
Review [3.6MB] jpg

2014 – Book Review – India: The Urban Transition – A case study of Development Urbanism
Review by Mukta Naik in Urban India, Vol. 34 Issue 1, January-June 2014, pp. 235-239
Henrik’s observations appear valuable in repositioning important questions and seeking opportunities for creative solutions.
Review [1.9MB] pdf

2011 – Vehicle free: It can begin from Sector 19
Review by Gaurav Bhatia in Times of India 26.09.2011
If UT administration had paid heed to what a Danish architect had suggested last year for making Sector 19 a car free area, then it would have had something tangible to tell the Punjab and Haryana high court.
Review [1.5MB] jpg

2011 – Strategy needed to double city’s density with no change in landscape
Review in Indian Express 28.03.2011
Henrik Valeur, a Danish architect-urbanist said there was a need to create affordable housing for the people. “For this, land should be utilised in a better manner. There is a need to find ways to integrate more people without deteriorating the natural environment”, he added.
Review [1.2MB] jpg

2010 – According to future plans, Sector 19 will become car-free
Review by Gaurav Bhatia in Dainik Bhaskar 08.12.2010
To reduce the traffic at the crossings, to motivate the people to take to cycling, and to reduce the pollution, Henrik has tried to link the green belts of different sectors. The division between sectors will be broken so that cycles and rickshaws have free passage between green belts.
Review [1.1MB] jpg in-flag

2010 – For better climes
Article by Ashima Sehajpal in Tribune Lifestyle 11.11.2010
Henrik believes that an eco-friendly building in real context is one that from the very raw material, construction, use and even disposal doesn’t cost anything to the environment.
Article [1.4MB] jpg

2010 – International architects lay stress on sustainable development of cities
Article in Indian Express 10.10.2010
“Taking the case study of China where the benefits of rapid development are overwhelming. But at the same time it has affected not only the environment but also ended up in unplanned development leading to congestion and many social problems. It seems that if India does not wake up to the need of sustainable development, it would be no different than China in the coming five to ten years,” said Henrik Valeur
Article [958K] jpg

2007 – Danish and Chinese ideas on the ‘Harmonious City’
Review in Shanghai Daily 18.09.2007
Danish and Chinese architects are trying to solve the problem of how China can proceed with its ambitious projects to improve the living conditions of its people without exhausting the very resources needed to sustain a better life.
Article [757K] jpg

2007 – Green means go for sustainable development
Review in Shanghai Daily 22.08.2007
Momentum is gathering pace for urban planning that puts both life quality and environmental concerns at its core. A forthcoming exhibition will showcase the works of Tongji University students at the cutting edge of this exciting field.
Article [1.1MB] jpg

2006 – En gylden stund for dansk arkitektur (A golden moment for Danish architecture)
Review by Libbie Fjelstrup in Politiken 10.11.2006
Et dansk/kinesisk arkitektursamarbejde omkring byudvikling i fire kinesiske byer har vundet hovedprisen, Den Gyldne Løve, på den internationale arkitekturbiennale i Venedig. Det er aldrig sket før og vil nu for alvor sætte dansk arkitektur på verdenskortet.
Review [740K] pdf

2006 – Biennale of Architecture – The Danish pavilion
Review by Régine Debatty in We Make Money Not Art 29.10.2006
One of my favourite pavilions at the Venice Biennale was the Danish one. Its design is all pop, flashy and fun (just as i like them), its central themes (China and sustainability) are certainly very trendy these days but its approach is everything but superficial.
Review [1.1MB] jpg

2006 – High-speed urbanism
Review by Finn Selmer in Arkitekten #12 2006
Den danske udstilling derimod tynges ikke af historiske eller kontekstuelle absoluter, men kaster sig uforfærdet over den kinesiske high-speed-urbanisme, der i disse år forsøger at imødekomme en massiv folkevandring fra landområderne til de store byer, samtidig med at levestandarden og forbruget i Kina er støt stigende.
Review [1.3MB] pdf

2006 – Byer, som bjergtager (Captivating cities)
Review by Torben Weirup in Berlingske Tidende 11.09.2006
Tag over hovedet til de millioner af kinesere, som fl ytter fra land til by, er noget af en mundfuld.Den Danske Pavillon ved den 10. internationale Arkitekturbiennale i Venedig viser interessante forsøg på at tackle den udfordring, befolkningstilvæksten og kampen om resourcerne stiller os overfor, og dermed bliver Den Danske Pavillon en begavet reaktion på biennalens overordnede tema.
Review [86K] pdf

2005 – Om perfekta städer (On perfect places)
Review in Sydsvenskan 10.06.2005
En ny mångfald, i staden kräver en ny planering menar initiativtagarna till ”A new future for planning”. En som fångar upp medborgaren. Det är det spöke som drar genom hela den nya st adsbyggnadsdiskussionen som syns i ”A new future for planning”: Hur fånga föränderligheten, hur planera för den?
Review [48K] pdf

2004 – Rummets kunst (The art of space)
Review by Camilla Jalving in Kristeligt Dagblad 06.10.2004
Arkitektgruppen UiD, som i flere år har arbejdet undersøgende i forhold til alternative boligformer, bystrukturer og samfundsvisioner forsøger at løse problemet med et helt rum fyldt af indholdsmættede plancher. Ret interessant – giver man sig den nødvendige tid, for informationer er der nok af.
Review [111K] pdf

2004 – Kris men hoppfullt i Lund (Crisis, yet hope, in Lund)
Review by Leo Gullbring in Arkitekten 30.09.2004
Parallellt ordnar Henrik Valeur och Fredrik Fritzson, från arkitektduon UID, ett rollspel om gated communities. Frågor som ligger helt rätt i tiden, och som skulle kunna bli en början till en aktivare roll för Arkitektskolan i Lund.
Review [91K] pdf

2004 – En gryende dialog (An emerging dialogue)
Review in Dagens Nyheter 02.05.2004
“CHECK-IN Oresund” lämnar sitt bidrag till en gryende ny-programmatisk rörelse, en rörelse som kanske, med arkitekturteoretikern Anthony Vidlers ord, “inte kommer att prioritera arkitektur i konventionell bemärkelse”, men som inte heller kommer att väja för svårigheterna att, med hjälp av ny teknologi, kontinuerligt ge regionens vardag en meningsfull form.
Review [368K] jpg

2004 – Øresundsregionen er som Los Angeles (The Öresundregion is like Los Angeles)
Review in Søndagsavisen 26.03.2004
Det 21. Århundredes bysamfund er multikulturelt og består af små og store byer, sammensatte landskaber og befolkninger. […] Det har det dansk-svenske arkitektfirma Uid skabt en multimedieudstilling om.
Review [210K] jpg

2003 – Ljud som samtidskonst i det offentliga rummet (Sound as contemporary art in public space)
Review by Yrr Jonasdottir in Synpunkt #05 2003
Ljudet används ofta som uttryck i samtidskonsten. Det är vanligt i konstens rum, men ovanligt som konstnärligt uttryck i det offentliga rummet. Konstprojketet Undercover.Coma av den dansk/svenska duon CoMa, Fredrik Fritzson (S) och Henrik Valeur (DK), bestod av ljud i två befintliga telefonkiosker på stan. I dessa små rum kunde man höra röster talandes olika språk. Det lät som fragment ur samtal.
Review [80K] pdf

1999 – Kunstnere vil lave kultur i Irma-tårn (Artists want to create culture in the tower of Irma)
Review by Kristian Bilenberg in Jyllandsposten 25.05.1999
»Gennem udstillinger, performances og udveksling mellem stedets faste brugere og de inviterede personer håber vi at kunne skabe et enestående kunstnerisk vækstmiljø,« siger arkitekt Henrik Valeur
Review [1.6MB] jpg

1999 – kulturprojekt i kaffetårnet (Culture project in the Coffee Tower)
Review by Libbie Fjelstrup in Politiken 19.05.1999
… i dag præsenterer en række kunstnere [et forslag] der ikke bare skal give tårnet status som kulturhus med bl.a. film- og teaterforestillinger, her skal også være værksteder for grafikere, scenografer, billedkunstnere og arkitekter, her skal være en ramme for seminarer og workshops og indrettes et antal lejligheder for udenlandske kunstnere på ophold.
Review [2MB] jpg

1999 – Alt eller intet (All or nothing)
Review by Allan de Waal in Information 19.02.1999
Dennegang er det radikale tilløb til en ny arkitektonisk praksis, men nærmest de-illumineret. For de løsrevne citater eller drilagtige annonceklip på væggene viser i første omgang kritisk væk fra emnet bygningskunst, og ikke umiddelbart ind mod en arkitektonisk kerne. Men den er dér!
Review [1.3MB] jpg